The Monastery of St. George of Chekhedana is a small hall located in the community of the village of Leghva, in the village of Tskhrafona. It was built in 1609 by Mamiya II Gurieli to house the soul of his young son, Manuchar.
The temple was consecrated by Theophanes, Patriarch of Jerusalem. The church of Chekhedana was established as the rival of the Monastery of the Cross in Jerusalem, which meant that the Patriarch of Jerusalem, who had arrived in Guria, was to perform the liturgy here. It belonged to the Patriarchate of Jerusalem, along with the churches of Bailey and Father.
The completely ruined church was rebuilt on the old foundation in the 90s of the XX century